Board of Pension

Under ¶ 639 of The Book of Discipline, the Conference Board of Pension (CBOP) is to “have charge of the interests and work of providing for and contributing to the support, relief, assistance, and pensioning of clergy and their families, other church workers, and lay employees of the institutions, organizations, and agencies within that annual conference of The United Methodist Church”.  The Iowa Conference Board of Pension gathers quarterly to conduct the business of caring for those who serve the church, and in so doing, provides support for the physical, emotional, spiritual, social, and financial needs  of their constituents through  a variety of benefit plans, assistance programs, and educational opportunities.  



2021 - 2022 Membership

Elected Members                                                                                                         Ex-Officio Members

Allan Allard, Vice-Chair/Insurance Committee Chair                          Doug Cue, Appointive Cabinet Representative

Staci Appel                                                                                                                        Rebecca Gough, CFA Representative

​Denise Boots                                                                                                                   

Ron Bupp                                                                                                                           Ex-Officio Officers

Ellen Dickey                                                                                                                     Maggie Biggs, Conference Treasurer/Dir Admin Svcs 

Steve Dinnen, Investment Committee Chair                                              Joni Mardesen, Dir HR/Conference Benefit Officer

Chris Dix                                                                                                                             

Dwight Hicks                                                                                                                    Conference Staff 

Don Hodson                                                                                                                      Emily Graber, Asst. Treasurer/Controller

Bob Holdorf, Secretary                                                                                              Kae Tritle, Wellness Coordinator

Vicki Homan                                                                                                                     Kristina Merfeld, HR/Benefit Manager

Mark Morehouse, Nominations Committee Chair

Realff Ottesen, Assistance Committee Chair

David Peterson, Chair

Ed Peterson

Brian Rohrig

Jim Rush, Pension Committee Chair

Tim Walker

Joyce Webb




















Ex-Officio Members: (Voice and Vote)

  1. Cue, Doug

Appointive Cabinet Representative





  1. Gough, Rebecca – Lay

Council on Finance & Administration Representative

P O Box 323

Harlan IA  51537-0323


Phone:                  712-733-8681



Ex-Officio Officers: (Voice and Vote)            

  1. Mardesen, Joni -- HR Director/CBO

2301 Rittenhouse Street

Des Moines IA 50321


  1. Biggs, Maggie -- Conference Treasurer

2301 Rittenhouse Street

Des Moines IA 50321


Phone:                  515-974-8919

               Committee:          PENSION/INVESTMENT


  1. Graber, Emily – Conference Controller

2301 Rittenhouse Street

Des Moines IA50321


  1. Tritle, Kae – Wellness Coordinator

603 Ashford Place

Iowa City IA52245

               Committee:         HEALTH INSURANCE/WELLBEING




Executive Committee:

               Dave Peterson, Chair

               Allan Allard, Vice-Chair

               Bob Holdorf, Secretary

               Steve Dinnen, Investment Committee Chair

               Jim Rush, Pension Committee Chair

               Maggie Biggs, Conference Treasurer

               Joni Mardesen, Conference Benefit Officer