Congregational Excellence

The Office of Congregational Excellence will connect, equip and inspire local congregations to make God's hope for the world real through faith, fruit and fire.


Rev. Dr. Jaye Johnson

Director of Congregational Excellence


Rev. Dr. Jaye Johnson is the Director of Congregational Excellence for the Iowa Annual Conference. He works with the bishop, as a member of the cabinet, and is responsible for overseeing congregational revitalization in Iowa.

Prior to being named to his current position, Jaye served for five years as the Field Outreach Minister in the South Central District. The Field Outreach Minister’s primary task was to help pastors, congregations, and communities live boldly into the future God dreams for them by being a coach, consultant, resource person, and encourager for congregations of all sizes. Jaye served a variety of ministry settings including a “blended congregation” that functioned in mission, structure, and polity as one church, but maintained five worship centers and he led a "vital ecumenical merger”of a United Methodist and a Presbyterian congregation to create United Faith Church and Community Center where he served as the lead pastor.

Jaye also serves as an Affiliate Professor of Church Leadership at the University of Dubuque Theological seminary where he co-leads a Doctor of Ministry cohort. He earned his Master of Divinity from the University of Dubuque Theological Seminary in Dubuque (2004), Iowa and a Doctor of Ministry in Leadership and Congregational Development from Saint Paul School of Theology in Kansas City (2012). He is a trained clergy coach and a member of the International Coaching Federation. He has presented at numerous state and national conferences.

Jaye is married to Rev. Amy Johnson also a UTDS grad. They live in Osceola, IA with their two children Alee (17) and Andrew (15). In his free time Jaye likes to camp and take photographs, both of which he admits he does not do enough.


 Associate Directors

Rev. Ryan Christenson

Assoc. Director for Congregational Excellence​














Rev. Melissa Drake

Assoc. Director for Congregational Excellence