Itineration Schedules

Katherine Parker Missionary Itineration

By: Beverly Nolte, Missionary Itineration Secretary, 515 266 4186, beverly.nolte@gmail.com

The Iowa Conference is hosting Katherine Parker, a United Methodist Missionary, presently serving in Nepal. Katherine has frequent flyer miles having served at the Asian Rural Institute in Japan, Practical Farmers in Ames, IA, with the Community Health and Agricultural Development program in Cambodia before working with the Health Team of the United Mission to Nepal.

Ms. Parker has considerable experience with agricultural programs that include farming, rice co-ops, water, sanitation and hygiene and working with livestock.

A native of California her undergraduate and Master's degrees are from educational institutions there. She has deep roots in United Methodism due to grandparents, an aunt and cousins who have served as United Methodist clergy. From a young age, Katherine wanted to be involved in mission work. She was in Iowa to itinerate in 2016.

We offer you and your church the opportunity for Katherine to share her stories. If your church members are interested she also has a “cooking class” to learn how to prepare traditional Nepali food and offers a sewing class to make washable menstrual pads.

Katherine does not have transportation so it would be your responsibility to transport her from one event to another. For long distances you might split the travel with the other host church. Your church/group is asked to take an offering, not to give to her, but sent to the Iowa Conference treasurer, designated: #399 Parker Itineration to help defray other travel costs. Any funds remaining will be sent for her salary support.

Additional biographical information about Katherine is found here. Her Advance Special Salary Support number is #15187Z.

 

PROPOSED SCHEDULE:

Mon. April 22 Arrive Des Moines, visit to UMC Conference Center

Overnight Beverly Nolte, 515 266 4186, beverly.nolte@gmail.com

 

Tues. April 23 Morning/lunch hour Rippey

Rev. Paul Burrow, 515 436 7731, burrowpi@yahoo.com

Afternoon/overnight Webster City, Asbury 

Rev. Jeffrey Flagg, 5515 832 5369, asburyumchurch@hotmail.com

 

Wed. April 24 Morning/lunch hour Greene

Rev. Joan Thomas, 641 816 4256, jrthomas85@hotmail.com

Afternoon/overnight Sheffield/West Fork

Rev. Sandra Gobell, 641 892 4666, gobelsan@yahoo.com

 

Thur. April 25 Morning/lunch hour St. Ansgar

Rev. Rhoda Preston, 641 713 4300, stangarum@myomnitel.com

Afternoon/overnight Storm Lake

Rev. Phil Webb, 712 732 5458, revphilwebb@gmail.comslumcoffice@gmail.com

 

Fri. April 26 Morning/lunch hour Cherokee

Rev. Rev. Cris Decious, 712 225 3955, cris.decious@iaumc.net

Afternoon/overnight Sioux City Trimble

Rev. Martha Anderson, 712 252 2883, pastormarthasc@aol.com

 

Sat. April 27 Morning Gray 

Rev. Lori Shannon, 712 563 4597, jshannon@mmctsu.com

Early afternoon Faith Parish (Humboldt)

Rev.Alberta Ervin, 515 3322083, alberta.ervin@iaumc.netmelissa.warren@iaumc.net

Overnight Beverly Nolte 515 266 4186, beverly.nolte@gmail.com

 

Sun. April 28 Worship/Sunday School New Hope (in Des Moines)

Rev. Jon Gaul, 515 278 2097, jgaul@newhopedsm.org, Sharon Smith, wicketsblooms@aol.com

Overnight TBD

 

Mon. April 29 Morning/lunch hour Drakesville

Rev. Tim Frasher, 641 664 3206, Rev. Jon Klaus, jklaus@cds-global.com

Afternoon/overnight Bloomfield (see above) Linda Rowe, 641 664 1828, lindarowe@netins.net

 

Tues. April 30 Morning/lunch hour Centerville

Rev. Pam Kranzler, 641 856 3213, pamkranzler@hotmail.com

Overnight Beverly Nolte, 515 266 4186, beverly.nolte@gmail.com

Wed. May 1 Leave Iowa