Mental Health Initiative


Mental Health Task Force Members:

Len Eberhart:

Kathi Mitchell:

Erica Shannon-Stueve:

Lee Schott:

Upcoming Trainings:

Greetings Clergy and Laity in the Iowa Conference of the United Methodist Church!

The Bishop’s Mental Health Task Force invites you to join in the journey to fulfill one aspect of the resolution brought to the floor of Annual Conference 2017, #9342 Mental Illness, found on page 33 of the Iowa Conference Book of Resolutions.  That aspect is to make available Mental Health First Aid training in each of the eight Districts of the Iowa Annual Conference  

Mental Health First Aid is an 8-hour course that teaches you how to help someone who may be experiencing a mental health or substance  abuse challenge.  The training helps you identify, understand, and respond to signs of addiction and mental illness.  As the Bishop calls us to be Difference Makers – anyone anywhere can be the one to make the difference in the life of someone with a mental health or substance use challenge – IF they know what to do and say.

Please consider taking part in a Mental Health First Aid Training near you.  Trainings are open to anyone who is called to learn more about mental illness and substance use/abuse.  You may attend a training in a district other than your own.  Each training is limited to 30 participants. This program has been approved for .8 continuing education credits for Iowa clergy attending the full day of training. 

Previously held trainings:

The Southwest District Mental Health First Aid Training was Friday, June 29, 2018 at Broadway United Methodist Church.

If you missed a training in your District, watch for future training opportunities arranged by the Bishop's Task Force, or check this website for other opportunities in your area.

If you have any questions, please contact or text/call 563-419-6795.

Schedule: (Ottumwa will begin 1 hour later)

Check In:  7:45 am
Instruction:  8:00 am – 12:00 pm
Lunch: 12:00 pm – 12:30 pm
Instruction:  12:30 pm –   4:30 pm

Thursday, 7/19/18 North Central District

Asbury UMC, 921 Des Moines St, Webster City, IA
Instructor:  Patti Treibel-Leeds - CICS

Register Now →

 Wednesday, 7/25/18 Southeast District

St John’s UMC, 109 E 14thSt, Davenport, IA   
Instructors:  Stacy Brown and Jessica Donaldson

Register Now →

Thursday, 8/16/18 Northeast District

Cedar Falls First UMC, 718 Clay St, Cedar Falls, IA 

Register Now →

Saturday, 8/18/18  East Central District

Buffalo UMC, 1000 30th St NE, Cedar Rapids, IA

     Instructor:  Kathy Johnson – Abbe Center 

Register Now →

Date TBD/Northwest District

St Paul’s UMC, 531 W Main, Cherokee, IA

    Instructor: Patty Erickson-Puttmann

Monday, 10/01/18  South Central District

 Ottumwa First UMC, 202 E 4thSt, Ottumwa, IA

Instructors:  Christina Schark/Laci Morrissey 

Register Now →

Thursday, 11/10/18  Central District

    Aldersgate UMC, 3600 75thSt, Urbandale, IA

Instructors:  Laura Larkin/Karen Hyatt

Register Now →