Three clergywomen receive Bishop Thomas award

June 11, 2013

Rev. Diane McClanahan, Rev. Barb Dinnen, and Rev. Carmen Lampe Zeitler were presented with the Bishop James S. Thomas Leadership Award.

Bishop Julius Calvin Trimble said of Bishop Thomas, “Bishop James S. Thomas, who served the Iowa Annual Conference of the Methodist Church and then The United Methodist Church from 1964 to 1976, was a leader in The United Methodist Church in the area of education, higher education, social justice, ecumenical relations, and ministries that fostered inclusiveness and the church response to the poor and marginalized. Bishop Thomas was an encourager and major promoter of both lay and clergy in the areas of higher education, continuing education and outreach in local communities.”

Rev. D. A. Weesner, Superintendent of the Central District, said of the award recipients, “I'm really pleased to present the Thomas award to three outstanding clergywomen who care for the poor and the immigrant among us.  They work together in what is truly an inner-city mission center of faith, advocacy, and community service.  The wonderful rapport of the ministries of Trinity, Las Americas, and Children and Family Ministries is a reflection of the common commitment and dedication of these three clergywomen who sacrificially witness to the vision of Micah 6:8 – to do justice, embrace faithful love, and walk humbly with your God.”

Rev. Diane McClanahan was appointed to Trinity United Methodist Church in 2006.  Rev. Barb Dinnen was appointed Pastor of Las Americas Comunidad de Fe in 2004 and in 2012 to Trinity as well.  Rev. Carmen Lampe Zeitler has been the Executive Director of Children and Family Urban Ministries in 1996.

Bishop Trimble established the Bishop James S. Thomas Award in 2011.  Mrs. Ruth Thomas was present to present the inaugural award to Rev. Bob Crandall.  Mrs. Fern Underwood was the 2012 recipient.