College of Bishops to meet in Des Moines; join in FIT Challenge walk

September 10, 2013

The College of Bishops of the North Central Jurisdiction of The United Methodist Church will gather in Des Moines for its fall 2013 meeting.  The nine active Bishops and additional retired Bishops will meet at the Conference Center.  In addition, the group will visit the Women at the Well United Methodist Church congregation at the Iowa Correctional Institution for Women. 

The Bishops will also experience the Christian Life Center of Ankeny First United Methodist Church as they share in “An Evening of Encouragement and Witness.”  Ministries to be highlighted include the Matthew 25 Hub, Hillcrest Family Services, Mobile United Methodist Missionaries, and Women at the Well.  Mr. Juan Carlos Mendoza will provide music.  The soccer team from the Christian Life Center raised funds for Imagine No Malaria and will make a special presentation to Bishop Trimble.

“I’m looking forward to hosting the North Central Jurisdiction College of Bishops,” Bishop Julius Calvin Trimble said.  “It will be a time of encouragement and witness as we share some of the essential ministries of the Conference.”

One highlight of the College of Bishops meeting will be the Bishop’s FIT Challenge Walkathon, which is set for Tuesday, September 17 at Gray’s Lake in Des Moines. The “walk, run, jog, skip, jump, hop” begins at 7:00 am, with registration and a group photo at 6:45 am at the Pavilion Upper Level.

“I want to invite friends from Iowa congregations to join us at Gray’s Lake for the FIT Challenge,” Bishop Trimble added.  “As we look to the last quarter of this year, I want to encourage people to continue to walk and to pay attention to self-care as we care for others.”

The FIT Challenge walkathon will conclude at approximately 8:00 am. 

True Vine Ministry of the Iowa Annual Conference will host a luncheon for Episcopal Spouses on Tuesday.

Active Bishops of the North Central Jurisdiction are: East Ohio: Bishop John Hopkins; West Ohio: Bishop Gregory Palmer; Michigan Area: Bishop Deborah Kiesey; Indiana: Bishop Michael Coyner; Northern Illinois: Bishop Sally Dyck; Illinois Great Rivers: Bishop Jonathan Keaton; Wisconsin: Bishop Hee Soo Jung; Iowa: Bishop Julius Trimble; and Dakotas/Minnesota Area: Bishop Bruce Ough.  Click here to see an interactive map of the Jurisdiction.